Twenty Fourth Thing

Well, it’s been lovely. Mondays won’t be the same without a fresh set of Things to look forward to and I’m already hoping the team will imminently announce “25 More Things” as a post-graduate option. Have spent many happy hours at home exploring areas it would never have occurred to me to investigate and have also enjoyed the virtual contact with other 25-Thingers whose paths don’t often cross mine.

Some of the Things were already familiar – had long been addicted to Facebook and Google Earth and my eccentric musical tastes led me to You Tube years ago. I’d dabbled in Flickr but never looked at it properly and had also flirted with Wikipedia and bounced off the world of Podcasts.

Knew about Blogging but hadn’t expected it to be for me, definitely thought RSS feeds were a waste of time – how wrong can you be? I can’t live without Bloglines now and all the goodies it delivers to my desktop. Don’t think I will continue with the PurchasingFairy blog, though I will miss her, but will definitely start blogging from holiday destinations, partly to offer friends and family an ongoing virtual postcard and partly as a memento for myself. Reading the other 25 Things blogs has been entertaining, motivating and informative  – and thanks to Desimeleon’s musings I now enjoy a blossoming relationship with iGoogle.

Delicious and Google Docs were new to me and are both now indispensable – I regularly switch between PCs, Mac and laptop in various locations and having my bookmarks and documents to hand anywhere is a great timesaver – no more wondering whether my USB drive is still on the bus or having to wait till another time to complete a particular task.

Mashups, image generators and Library Thing are all fun to play with and I probably will in an idle moment though I don’t have many idle moments these days.

And I’ve tried with Twitter and Technorati, really I have, but sadly am unable to see the point so have dropped them from my repertoire.

Whether or not any of the above will be useful for work is debatable – Google Docs would be the obvious candidate had we not been warned against it with regard to work use. 25 Things has resulted in new arrivals on Facebook and thus enhanced my work-related social networking– I used to work in the Library and the opportunity to share space with former colleagues is particularly welcome. Also, some of my tecchie RSS feeds might well turn up information relevant to my job over time. On the whole though, it’s been more of a pleasure than a duty for me and I’ve loved it from start to finish.

Explore posts in the same categories: 25 Things

Leave a comment